Skip To The Main Content

Legislative Action Committee


Mission: The Legislative Action Committee (LAC) is responsible for organizing and maintaining a grassroots network to inform local, state and national elected officials from the greater Houston area of the legislative agendas of the American Dental Association and the Texas Dental Association.

Description: The LAC Committee monitors national and state legislation and works with national and state legislators as advocates for the dental profession. Under the LAC umbrella, the DENPAC/ADPAC committee encourages members to contribute to both state and national PACs. Three to four committee meetings per year.

·    Continue to develop a presence within the community to encourage area leaders to look to GHDS for accurate information on oral health care.
·    Continue to develop and expand the Contact Dentist list for the grassroots network.
·    Work with the GHDS DENPAC representatives to develop and implement fundraising activities and encourage ADPAC and DENPAC contributions. ADPAC & DENPAC representatives work with their National and State level legislators to promote organized dentistry’s legislative agendas.
·    Disseminate the legislative agendas of the ADA Council on Government Affairs (CGA) and the TDA Council on Legislative and Regulatory Affairs (CLRA) to GHDS member dentists,  UTSD American Student Dental Association (ASDA) members, U of H American Student Dental Alliance Pre-Dental students, RICE Pre-Dentals students and HBU Pre-Dental students.
·    Promote GHDS members' participation in ADA Dentist and Student Lobby Day, TDA Legislative Day, which provides dentistry’s voice to be heard by all legislators in the National and State Capitols.

Schedule: All committee meetings begin at 6:30 p.m. at the Society Office.
·    Wednesday, October 3, 2018
·    Wednesday, January 9, 2019
·    Wednesday, April 10, 2019    

LAC Events
·    October General Meeting - Tuesday, October 30, 2018
·    TDA Legislative Day - Wednesday, February 20, 2019
·    ADA Dentist and Student Lobby Day - Sunday-Tuesday, April 14-16, 2019

LAC Student Events
·    UTSD ASDA Student Vendor Day - TBD
·    UTDB ASDA Student Advocacy Academy Week LAC Luncheon - TDB
·    U of H Pre-Dental Meeting -TBD

Dr. Adam Shisler - Chairman
Dr. Sarah Arafat
Dr. Craig Armstrong, Past President , ADA CGA Representative
Ms. Lana Armstrong - Alliance
Dr. Doug Bogan, Past President
Dr. Jason Brock
Dr. Rita Cammarata, Past President
Dr. Lee Clitheroe, Past President
Dr. Elbert Coker
Dr. Dath Collins
Dr. Lauren Golden
Dr. Thomas Harrison, Past President, ADA ADPAC Representative
Dr. Harold Heuszel
Dr. Duc Ho, Past President
Dr. Dean Hutto, Past President
Dr. Laji James, Past President
Dr. Glennis Katzmark
Dr. Steve Koo
Dr. Nelson Lawnin
Dr. Rana Mehr
Dr. Philip Nauert
Dr. Greg Oelfke – Past President, TDA DENPAC Representative
Dr. Joseph Piazza, Past President
Dr. Ron Rhea, Past President
Dr. Katie Stuchlik
Dr. Debra Stewart, Past President
Dr. Karona Tum
Dr. Michelle Thompson
Dr. Karen Walters, Past President
Dr. Fabia Younus

UTSD Student Representatives
Ms. Amy La - ASDA President
Mr. Robert Anton - ASDA President Elect
Mr. Chad Adams
Ms. Belen Diaz
Ms. Joy Nisnisan
Ms. Rana Shammas

U of H
Ms. Victoria Garza - ASDA President
Ms. Diana Le
Mr. Quy-Hien Nguyen
Ms. Shadaan Ruppani
Ms. Hannah Tran

Mr. John Nguyen

Mr. Cesar Zapata

Board Liaisons:
Dr. Rihl Buckley, President
Dr. Glenda Owen - President-elect